Information Sharing Agreements Between Nations

five eyes alliance

Many countries form treaties to share various types of information to ensure protection and safety. The five eyes alliance is one of the best examples of such agreements. If you live in one of the countries bound by this contract, then it is vital that you have all the relevant knowledge about it. For more Info, you must feel free to browse online on reliable websites. You don’t need to be aware of all the detailed terms and conditions of these international treaties. But information about those aspects which affect you will always be vital for your internet browsing anonymity. Hence, you must not shy away from making efforts.

Alliance of the Five Eyes
It is one of the earliest information sharing contracts entered into by UK, USA, New Zealand, Canada, and Australia. Initially, only the UK and the USA were members, but the other three countries joined in the middle part of the 20th century. Their primary objective was to decrypt the intelligence of the USSR. With time the terms of the contract became even more crucial.

Objectives change with time
At present, their goal is not only to decrypt intelligence but also to monitor and surveil the online activities of all citizens. So, if you are not using a virtual private network in these countries, then your browsing history is not anonymous at any point. Does that come as a shock to you? Well, many people are surprised when they get to know this fact. But you have no option except to deal with the situation as it exists.

Leakage of NSA documents
In 2013, the extensive surveilling activities of the governments of these countries became public knowledge because of the actions of Edward Snowden. Since then, citizens of these countries and others have been worried about their privacy and anonymity on the internet. Using a high-quality virtual private network seems to be the only viable and practical solution.

The base is growing
You must also get to know about the nine eyes alliance and the fourteen eyes alliance. Both of these networks have all the member countries of the five eyes. At the same time, other nations have joined hands to formulate extensive surveillance and monitoring strategies of citizens. The fact is that intelligence sharing is not a new concept. It has been around for many years. But the extent to which it is done has been discovered quite recently.

VPN is not legal everywhere
If you are going to use a virtual private network, you must find out about the internet and cyber security laws in your country. You will be surprised to find out that many countries prohibit their citizens from using VPN and other forms of private internet access.

VPNs with ‘No Logs’ policies
It is always prudent to opt for a virtual private network which follows the ‘no logs’ policy. It implies that they do not keep any information about you. Hence, you remain anonymous. The service provider will not be able to provide any information to the government about your online activities.